Watching a Humminbird (creative essays)

I have no clue why this one stuck in my mind, I’m not even much of a naturalist, but for some reason this one stuck with me.

The ability of the authors in these short little pieces to make one feel a little bit of what they were feeling is an easy to see proof of their abilities as a writer. However, I suppose even then this is all subjective as for all the pieces I chose to remember the one about a frakking bird…go figure.

Anyway this piece reminded me of growing up in the country and watching for hawks and eagles and things of such nature. I’ve always loved birds of prey, I find them comforting rather than frightening as most people do. Hunters, whether animals or even higher beings, display a sense of independence, intelligence and ability to adapt to surroundings that lesser creatures cannot. They simply lack the intellect to do so. Reminds me of social gatherings: find the loner, and there’s your hunter. He/She is a loner because the herd (and that’s what large groups are after all, merely herds) has nothing to offer the hunter except fresh prey somewhere down the road. The herd is only as strong as the weakest member while the hunter has the ability to be as strong as they chose to be. Made me think for  awhile about that.

 

Leave a comment